Vibrant Valderrama: Home of the Panubason Festival!

The Iraynon-Bukidnon tribe originally inhabited the upland areas deeply embedded in the thick forests of the Baloy-Madia-as Mountain Ranges.  These indigenous peoples practice a way of life and culture so distinct to them and they have their own unique belief system and education.

The IPs of Gimpanan are the municipality’s original settlers who traced their roots to the indigenous peoples of the hinterlands of Lambunao and Calinog.  Gimpanan referred to the highland settlement area upstream of Cangaranan and Cadian Rivers.  They were called “iraynon” as the term implied living upstream, or “iraya” in the local dialect in contrast with “ilawod” which means downstream.  Gimpanan, which is presently called Barangay San Agustin, remains to be the center of this indigenous peoples having been granted a Certificate of Ancestral Domain Title.

The town’s present urban center was formerly a component barrio of the Municipality of Bugasong, called Caberi-an due to the abundance of beri shrubs. Some thirty families settling along the coast of Bugasong moved eastward following the riverbank of Cangaranan River until they reached the Caberi-an, a place they cleared, tilled & inhabited.

Because of the vast rich agricultural lands sufficiently irrigated by the waters of Cangaranan River, the settlement flourished and attracted more settlers from the mother town.   Through time, the established community felt the need to have their own sets of officials to govern themselves independently from the pueblo of Bugasong.

Caberi-an became a separate and independent municipality in 1865 through the effort of a Spanish official surnamed Valderrama. Because of the great gratitude of the people to the Spanish Official, Caberi-an as a new pueblo was named Valderrama in his honor.  This Spanish official soon rose in rank and eventually became an interim Governor-General of the Philippines, Señor Manuel Blanco Valderrama (1873-1874).

Political development of the Municipality was undertaken by its duty-bound leaders: Narciso Maguad became the first “gobernadorcillo” of Valderrama. He was followed by Nicholas Arangote (1867-1869); Saturnino Legaspi (1869-1871); Martin Sangco (1871-1873); Carlos Jauod (1873-1875); Rafael Ybut (1875-1877) Doroteo Legaspi (1877-1879); Anselmo Sangco (1879-1881); Camilo Abrico (1881-1883); Eugenio Tuto (1883-1885); Pablo Jauod (1885-1887) Doroteo Legaspi (1887-1889); Camilo Abrico (1889-1891); Fabiano Abrico (1891-1893); Vicente Jauod (1893-1895); Anselmo Sangco (1895-1897); Lucas Pagunsan (1897-1901); Vicente Ybut (1901-1903): Vicente Abrico (1903-1905); Andres Vitudio (1905-1907); Benigno Jalipa (1907-1909); Federico Rivero  (1909-1917); Fidel Legaspi (1917-1923); Teodorico Romero (1923-1928); Juan Sangco (1929-1931); Federico Rivero (1932-1934); Mariano Arangote (1935-1937); Meliton Sangco (1938-1941), Gervacio Abrico (1941-1943), Inocentes Loquias (1943-1944); Gervacio Abrico (1945-1947); Adriano Castillon (1947-1948); Basilio Pagayonan (1948-1952); Jose Pon-an (1952-1960); Martin Bangcaya (1960-1964), Leonardo Berdin (1964-1969); Celso T. Rivero (1969-1986); Ramon Bangcaya (1987-1992); Felipe Pagunsan (1992-1995); Raymundo T. Roquero  (1995-2001), Mary Joyce M. Roquero (2001-2004); Raymundo T. Roquero (2004) who was then appointed Undersecretary for Political Coalition Affairs under the Office of the President in 2004 then Vice-Mayor Christopher Maguad became Mayor by law of succession (2004-2007); Mary Joyce M. Roquero (2007-2016); Jocelyn L. Posadas (2016-2019); and Mary Joyce M. Roquero (2019-2022); Jocelyn L. Posadas (2022-present).